Posted by The Open Page | 27th November,2017

The great scientist Alfred Nobel is being remembered for his work,mindset,character and for the inception of NOBEL PRIZE.
On 27th november 1895,Alfred Nobel signed his last will,donating a huge share of his wealth for the betterment and enrichment of the society. Alfred Nobel died in 1896,the 10th of december every year.
The Nobel Academy was established in 1901,with the 1st peace Prize to the founder of Red Cross Henry Dunant. His Red Cross Organisation (ICRC) received this Peace Award thrice.
In 1968, Central Bank sveriges Riksbank of sweden started the
Economic Science Prize in the memory of Alfred Nobel.
In Nobel Prize,the recipients get three memorable documents i.e.
a)Nobel Diploma (certificate)
b)Nobel Medal
c) Document having Prize money.
Medals:-Handmade and 18 carat green gold plated with 24 carat gold.
Money:-Every year,this prize money varies.In 1914,the amount was 8 million.This year,it is 9 million.
There is a possibility to award these prizes jointly and in these cases,the prize amount is shared by all with individual diplomas and Medals.
Further,if no winner or suitable candidate is found for a particular year,then the reserved prize money  will be kept for the next winner.
Till now 911 people and organisation have received this prize  money at 579 occasion.
There is a Greek theory regarding Nobel prize symbol that God Apollo wears a laurel wreath on his head;a Circular crown made of branches and leaves of the bay laurel. Hence,this peculiar aspect is the highlight of the apex body to honour any Laureates.
The youngest winner of the Nobel prize is Malala Yousafzai,aged 17 years,of pakistan,who received it in 2014,along with an Indian citizen Kailash Satyarthi.Earlier,this record was held by lawrence Bragg,who was at the age of 25,received the award in physics.
The oldest recipient was Leonid Hurwicz who was at the age of 90 received in 2007.
Controversy and walkout from the ceremony is common in Nobel history.Till now,only 48 women have received this prestigious award.Some trivias are associated.
Adolf Hitler Force
Three Germans were forbidden to receive Nobel prize due to the order of Adolf Hitler,but later on they collected their medals without prize money.
Carl van Ossietzky from German,Aung San Suu Kyi of Myanmar and Liu Xiaobo of China,these three laureates got their awards while they were under house arrest.
Further,Jean-Paul Sartre (1984 for Literature) and Le Due Tho (1973 for peace) refused to collect their awards,as they did not believe in recognition.
Last year singer Bob Dylon received the award which created a controversy among the global thinkers.

Read Full Post »